• Home
  • News
  • Magazine
    • Current Edition
    • Previous Editions
  • Climate
  • Minerals
  • Mining
  • All About Namibia’s Extractive Sector
  • Contact
  • Menu Item
Sunday, October 18, 2026
  • Login
The Extractor Magazine
  • Home
  • News
    • All
    • Africa
    • Biofuels
    • Climate
    • Copper
    • Exploration
    • Lithium
    • Minerals
    • Mining
    • Namibia
    • Nickel
    • Oil & Gas
    • Precious Metals
    • RIGS & VESSELS
    • Silver
    • Uranium
    African Pioneer begins 7,000m drilling at Ongombo and Ongeama copper projects

    African Pioneer begins 7,000m drilling at Ongombo and Ongeama copper projects

    Deep Yellow locks in water, local ownership ahead of Tumas investment decision

    Deep Yellow postpones Tumas investment decision beyond 2026

    Midas kicks off major drill campaign at Otavi Copper Project

    Midas finds multiple high-grade copper zones at Deblin near Otavi

    Serval confirms copper mineralisation in Namibia’s Kaoko Basin

    Serval allocates US$7.1m to Namibia copper exploration

    Madison Metals starts drilling at Khan Project in Namibia

    Critical One plans Critical Two Energy for Namibian uranium assets after failed US$3.5m sale

    Skeleton Coast Uranium closes N$95m funding, completes Namibia licence deal

    Skeleton Coast commits N$13.75m to uranium exploration near Langer Heinrich

    Higher uranium prices cushion 19% production drop at Langer Heinrich

    Higher uranium prices cushion 19% production drop at Langer Heinrich

    Arkle brings forward second uranium target after encouraging Namibia drilling

    Arkle finds uranium along 2.9km stretch near Trekkopje

    Keras becomes Okopa after securing 51% stake in Cornerstone Mining

    Keras becomes Okopa after securing 51% stake in Cornerstone Mining

    Noronex sees Powerline drill campaign as key toward commercial-scale discovery

    Noronex exits DorWit, its first Namibian copper projects

    Trending Tags

  • Magazine
    • Current Edition
    • Previous Editions
  • Climate
  • Minerals
  • Mining
  • All About Namibia’s Extractive Sector
  • Contact
  • Menu Item
No Result
View All Result
The Extractor Magazine
No Result
View All Result
Home Investment

35 investors show interest in IDC’s Rössing stake

by Editor
September 5, 2026
in Investment
0
35 investors show interest in IDC’s Rössing stake
518
SHARES
1.5k
VIEWS
Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Thirty-five prospective investors have expressed interest in buying South Africa’s Industrial Development Corporation’s (IDC) stake in Rössing Uranium, where sanctions affecting entities in the mine’s shareholder structure have complicated the development financier’s continued involvement.

The IDC disclosed the number of interested investors in its latest integrated reporting, providing the clearest indication yet of the response to a sale process launched earlier this year for its minority shareholding in the Namibian uranium producer.

The South African state-owned development financier holds approximately 10.5% of Rössing, although the original expression-of-interest notice issued in January described the stake being offered for sale as 10.2%.

According to the IDC, it marketed the shareholding in South Africa and Namibia and also approached selected financial and strategic investors directly, resulting in 35 expressions of interest.

The corporation has not disclosed the identities of the interested parties or indicated how many have advanced to the next stage of the disposal process.

It said the sale process remains ongoing.

The latest IDC disclosure also explains why the corporation wants to end an investment relationship with Rössing that stretches back to the mine’s establishment in the 1970s.

When the IDC formally invited expressions of interest in January, it said it had reached its investment horizon in Rössing and wanted to dispose of its 10.2% equity interest.

The corporation’s latest reporting now shows that compliance requirements associated with sanctioned entities in Rössing’s shareholder structure have also become a factor in its continued ownership.

“Rössing’s current shareholder base includes entities that are subject to international sanctions, resulting in Rössing being classified as a sanctioned entity under the IDC’s risk and compliance management programme,” the IDC said.

It added that its continued investment was inconsistent with its internal policies and lender requirements, which require it to end business relationships involving sanctioned parties.

The disclosure frames the sale as part of a broader compliance issue, rather than simply the IDC reaching the end of the period for which it intended to hold the investment.

Rössing’s ownership structure is unusual because it brings together Chinese, Iranian, South African and Namibian interests in one of Namibia’s largest uranium operations.

China National Uranium Corporation (CNUC) became the controlling shareholder after acquiring Rio Tinto’s 68.62% interest in 2019.

Iran Foreign Investment Company holds about 15%, while the IDC owns approximately 10%. The Namibian government and other minority shareholders hold the remainder.

A Namibian parliamentary oversight report recorded the ownership as CNUC with 68.6%, Iran Foreign Investment Corporation with 15.3%, the IDC with 10.2%, the Namibian government with 3.4% and other minority shareholders with 2.5%.

The same parliamentary report noted that, despite its relatively small equity interest, the Namibian government holds 50.06% of Rössing’s voting rights. It also described the Iranian shareholding as a passive legacy investment dating back to the mine’s financing in the 1970s.

The emergence of 35 interested investors means the IDC now has a sizeable pool from which a potential buyer could emerge, but there is no indication yet of who may ultimately acquire the stake.

The original sale process required prospective investors to demonstrate the financial capacity to acquire the shares and explain the strategic rationale for investing in Rössing.

Interested parties were also expected to provide information about their ownership and management structures and demonstrate how their proposed investment aligned with the IDC’s development objectives.

The deadline for expressions of interest was 27 February 2026.

The IDC has not announced a preferred buyer, transaction value or timetable for completing the disposal.

South African reporting has since estimated the stake at around R5 billion, although that figure did not form part of the IDC’s original January invitation to investors. The IDC’s January disposal notice did not disclose a valuation.

The sale would end an investment relationship almost as old as Rössing itself.

The IDC was a founding investor when the uranium operation was developed in the 1970s, and Rössing began production in 1976.

The mine’s ownership changed significantly in 2019 when Rio Tinto sold its controlling interest to CNUC, but the IDC retained its minority holding.

Rössing’s operating life has since been extended from 2027 to 2036, meaning the IDC is seeking to leave the company when the mine still has another decade of planned production ahead.

The eventual sale will therefore do more than end the IDC’s roughly 50-year association with Rössing. It will determine who takes a sizeable minority position alongside CNUC, the Iranian shareholder and the Namibian government in one of the country’s most established uranium operations.

With 35 expressions of interest now received, attention shifts to which investors make it through the IDC’s selection process and whether the eventual buyer changes the balance of Rössing’s long-standing ownership structure.

Share207Tweet130
Editor

Editor

  • Trending
  • Comments
  • Latest
Private company led by John Sisay to revive Tschudi, Otjihase, Matchless and Berg Aukas mines  

Private company led by John Sisay to revive Tschudi, Otjihase, Matchless and Berg Aukas mines  

February 6, 2024
ReconAfrica to drill first well in the Damara Fold Belt after raising N$238m

ReconAfrica to drill first well in the Damara Fold Belt after raising N$238m

April 3, 2024
Gratomic targets 12,000t of vein graphite from Aukam mine this year

Gratomic targets 12,000t of vein graphite from Aukam mine this year

February 3, 2024
Askari Metals puts hopes on Kestrel Pegmatite within the Uis Lithium Project

Askari Metals puts hopes on Kestrel Pegmatite within the Uis Lithium Project

3
Namibia holds 26 million ounces of silver

Namibia holds 26 million ounces of silver

3
2024 HOPEFULS: Langer Heinrich’s return after five years

2024 HOPEFULS: Langer Heinrich’s return after five years

2
African Pioneer begins 7,000m drilling at Ongombo and Ongeama copper projects

African Pioneer begins 7,000m drilling at Ongombo and Ongeama copper projects

October 16, 2026
Deep Yellow locks in water, local ownership ahead of Tumas investment decision

Deep Yellow postpones Tumas investment decision beyond 2026

October 16, 2026
Midas kicks off major drill campaign at Otavi Copper Project

Midas finds multiple high-grade copper zones at Deblin near Otavi

October 15, 2026
  • Home
  • News
  • Magazine
  • Climate
  • Minerals
  • Mining
  • All About Namibia’s Extractive Sector
  • Contact
  • Menu Item

Copyright © 2023 The Extractor Magazine. | Powered by: Impeccable Tech & Designs

No Result
View All Result
  • Home
  • News
  • Magazine
    • Current Edition
    • Previous Editions
  • Climate
  • Minerals
  • Mining
  • All About Namibia’s Extractive Sector
  • Contact
  • Menu Item

Copyright © 2023 The Extractor Magazine. | Powered by: Impeccable Tech & Designs

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Forgotten Password?

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Log In